Dogs and muddy boots welcome
real ales | dine | stay
The larder is full, the wine cellar is well stocked, the log fire is lit... all we need is you.
The John Barleycorn was originally built in 1660 as a coaching house. Between 1844 and 1852 it was licensed under the sign of the Coach and Horses. At first it was known as a public house, though later a beer house. The existing name, The John Barleycorn, came into being between 1858 and 1861. During the Second World War it became a favourite watering hole for the brave young airmen of Douglas Bader's Duxford Wing.
The John Barleycorn remains a very traditional English pub, serving some of the best kept ales in the country. It also enjoys an excellent reputation for serving the very best in genuine home prepared and cooked meals. Ideally situated to discover East Anglia. Punting on the cam, racing at Newmarket, concerts at Audley End House or a winters walk to Granchester. Plus, we are only 20min from Stanstead Airport